Follow the link here to enter the next race:

Hi Seasiders

In view of the current deteriorating situation relating to the spread of the Coronavirus we have reluctantly taken the decision to cancel the first two racesof the season.

The fact that registration is within the confines of Leasowe Lighthouse and we use a touchscreen system for all runners we really feel that it is unwise to expose both yourselves and our volunteer helpers to the possibility of contracting the virus.

We will continue to monitor the situation and will make a decision about the other races as and when the situation improves.

We have arranged with Nifty Timing that a full refund will be issued over the coming week to all those who have already entered.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the cancellation but hope that you understand that the decision has been taken in an effort to protect and support our community.


Gordon & Mark

As a result of increasing numbers and the pressure on the registration desk we shall close entries 10 minutes before the race start i.e. 6.50 p.m. Please make sure you have collected your number before this time to ensure you are eligible to run.

Photographs – Just a quick note to all Seaside Runners, that there a number of people who take photographs at our event.

Photographs are by far and away the most popular posts on Facebook, they are eagerly awaited by most runners, and appear on other social media and on our website

Mark also take photos of winners etc, and we have recently had a request for a drone to follow the run, it will be great to see the action in video. We welcome all these records as part of the event, however if you have any objections can you please let us know beforehand.




In 2017 we introduced more prizes for competitors and also a league for the six races, with prizes for some age categories.

Wirral Seaside Runs is a series of six races of 5 km, organised by Pensby Runners. The runs are held monthly from March to August each year. All races are online entry only and numbers can be collected on the day from Leasowe Lighthouse.  There is ample free parking available.

The Seaside race start is from near Leasowe Lighthouse, Moreton, along the sea embankment to finish at Harrison Drive just past the Derby Pool pub and near to Wallasey Village. While most run back to the car park at the start you will need to arrange transport at the finish otherwise. It is a flat and fast course and provides a regular indicator of fitness and performance. The races are very popular with club runners and also beginners and joggers and have become a permanent fixture on the running scene of Merseyside over the last 30 years. Although there is no formal cut off time it is expected that new ‘seasiders’ will aim to complete the three miles within 45 minutes.

Dates for 2020

RACE 1             Wednesday 1st  April 6.30 pm CANCELLED

RACE 2             Wednesday 29th April 7.00 pm CANCELLED

RACE 3             Wednesday 27th May 7.00 pm

RACE 4             Wednesday 24th June 7.00 pm

RACE 5             Wednesday 29th July 7.00 pm

RACE 6             Wednesday 26th August 7.00 pm

Please advertise our event by printing out and displaying this  poster:

Seaside Run Poster 2020

Check out the location and route map and upcoming race dates.

Also many thanks to our friends Leasowe Lighthouse for helping to put on the event.

Wirral Seaside Run is fully licensed by Wirral Borough Council and UK Athletics.

Under 11 years of age. Please see our policy under ‘Race Day Information’